Who were the first 10 presidents?

Who were the first 10 presidents?


  • George Washington. The 1st President of the United States.
  • John Adams. The 2nd President of the United States.
  • Thomas Jefferson. The 3rd President of the United States.
  • James Madison. The 4th President of the United States.
  • James Monroe.
  • John Quincy Adams.
  • Andrew Jackson.
  • Martin Van Buren.

Who is the 69th president of USA?

Benjamin Harrison – The White House.

Which is the proper chronological order of US presidents?

The Presidents Timeline

  • GEORGE WASHINGTON | 1789-1797.
  • JOHN ADAMS | 1797-1801.
  • THOMAS JEFFERSON | 1801-1809.
  • JAMES MADISON | 1809-1817.
  • JAMES MONROE | 1817-1825.
  • JOHN QUINCY ADAMS | 1825-1829.
  • ANDREW JACKSON | 1829-1837.
  • MARTIN VAN BUREN | 1837-1841.

Who were the presidents after Kennedy?

In the 1960 campaign, Johnson, as John F. Kennedy’s running mate, was elected Vice President. On November 22, 1963, when Kennedy was assassinated, Johnson was sworn in as President.

Who are the 9 Founding Fathers?

Although the list of members can expand and contract in response to political pressures and ideological prejudices of the moment, the following 10, presented alphabetically, represent the “gallery of greats” that has stood the test of time: John Adams, Samuel Adams, Benjamin Franklin, Alexander Hamilton, Patrick Henry.

Who are the 12 Founding Fathers of America?

Morris identified the following seven figures as the key Founding Fathers: John Adams, Benjamin Franklin, Alexander Hamilton, John Jay, Thomas Jefferson, James Madison, and George Washington.

More videos on YouTube.

John Adams Benjamin Franklin
George Washington James Wilson
Roger Sherman George Mason

Who is 4th in line for President?

If the President were to resign or die, the Secretary of State is fourth in line of succession after the Vice President, the Speaker of the House, and the President pro tempore of the Senate. There have been 71 Secretaries of State in the nation’s history.

Who are the first 44 presidents in order?

George Washington (1789–1797)

  • John Adams (1797–1801)
  • Thomas Jefferson (1801–1809)
  • James Madison (1809–1817)
  • James Monroe (1817–1825)
  • John Quincy Adams (1825–1829)
  • Andrew Jackson (1829–1837)
  • Martin Van Buren (1837–1841)
  • What President lived the longest?

    Jimmy Carter’s retirement, now 41 years, is the longest in American presidential history. At age 97, Jimmy Carter is also the oldest living president as well as the nation’s longest-lived president. He is one of six U.S. presidents (along with John Adams, Herbert Hoover, Ronald Reagan, Gerald Ford and George H. W.

    What President served 3 terms?

    Franklin Delano Roosevelt

    On July 18, 1940, Franklin Delano Roosevelt, who first took office in 1933 as America’s 32nd president, is nominated for an unprecedented third term. Roosevelt, a Democrat, would eventually be elected to a record four terms in office, the only U.S. president to serve more than two terms.

    Who actually wrote the Constitution?

    James Madison
    James Madison is known as the Father of the Constitution because of his pivotal role in the document’s drafting as well as its ratification.

    Which Founding Fathers did not own slaves?

    Ten of the first twelve American presidents were slave owners, the only exceptions being John Adams and his son John Quincy Adams, neither of whom approved of slavery. George Washington was the first president who owned slaves, including while he was president.

    Who is 7th in line for President?

    Attorney General
    Current order of succession

    No. Office Party
    7 Attorney General Unknown
    8 Secretary of the Interior Democratic
    9 Secretary of Agriculture Democratic
    10 Secretary of Commerce Democratic

    Can the Vice President be fired?

    Article II, Section 4: The President, Vice President and all civil Officers of the United States, shall be removed from Office on Impeachment for, and Conviction of, Treason, Bribery, or other high Crimes and Misdemeanors.

    Who were the 8 presidents before George Washington?

    Several men held the position: John Hanson (Nov 5 1781 – Nov 3 1782), Elias Boudinot (Nov 4 1782 – Nov 2 1783), Thomas Mifflin (Nov 3 1783 – Nov 29 1784), Richard Henry Lee (Nov 30 1784 – Nov 22 1785), John Hancock (Nov 23 1785 – Jun 5 1786), Nathaniel Gorham (Jun 6 1786 – Feb 1 1787), Arthur St.

    What’s the president’s salary?

    On May 14th, the House Appropriations Subcommittee on Treasury, Postal Service and General Government included a provision in the Treasury appropriations bill that would increase the President’s salary to $400,000, effective January 20, 2001.

    What president died the youngest?

    John F. Kennedy
    John F. Kennedy was the 35th President of the United States (1961-1963), the youngest man elected to the office. On November 22, 1963, when he was hardly past his first thousand days in office, JFK was assassinated in Dallas, Texas, becoming also the youngest President to die.

    What president lived the shortest time?

    William Henry Harrison
    Harrison died just 31 days after his inauguration in 1841, and had the shortest presidency in United States history.

    William Henry Harrison
    In office March 4, 1841 – April 4, 1841
    Vice President John Tyler
    Preceded by Martin Van Buren
    Succeeded by John Tyler

    Who served the shortest term as president?

    William Henry Harrison, an American military officer and politician, was the ninth President of the United States (1841), the oldest President to be elected at the time. On his 32nd day, he became the first to die in office, serving the shortest tenure in U.S. Presidential history.

    Which US president served the longest time?

    Franklin D. Roosevelt
    Presidents by time in office

    Rank President Length in days
    1 Franklin D. Roosevelt 4,422
    2 tie Thomas Jefferson 2,922
    James Madison 2,922
    James Monroe 2,922

    Who was the youngest founding father?

    Henry Lee III, 20.

    Who founded USA?

    America’s Founding Fathers — including George Washington, John Adams, Thomas Jefferson, James Madison, Alexander Hamilton, James Monroe and Benjamin Franklin — together with several other key players of their time, structured the democratic government of the United States and left a legacy that has shaped the world.

    Who ended slavery?

    President Abraham Lincoln
    On February 1, 1865, President Abraham Lincoln approved the Joint Resolution of Congress submitting the proposed amendment to the state legislatures. The necessary number of states (three-fourths) ratified it by December 6, 1865.

    Who actually wrote the Constitution of the United States?

    Who is 5th in line for President?

    Current order of succession

    No. Office Party
    3 President pro tempore of the Senate Democratic
    4 Secretary of State Democratic
    5 Secretary of the Treasury Democratic
    6 Secretary of Defense Unknown