Which God is Chandravanshi?

Which God is Chandravanshi?

history of the Rajputs

…ancestry can be divided between Suryavanshi (“House of the Sun,” or Solar people), or those descended from Rama, the hero of the epic Ramayana; and Chandravanshi (“House of the Moon,” or Lunar people), or those descended from Krishna, the hero of the epic Mahabharata.

Who called Chandravanshi?

These seem to be the names of five Vedic tribes as described in the Vedas. According to the Mahabharata, the dynasty’s progenitor Ila ruled from Prayag, and had a son Shashabindu who ruled in the country of Bahli. The son of Ila and Budha was Pururavas who became the first Chandravanshi emperor of the planet.

Who are suryavanshi and Chandravanshi?

Suryavanshi denotes descent from the solar deity Surya, Chandravanshi (Somavanshi) from the lunar deity Chandra, and Agnivanshi from the fire deity Agni. The Agnivanshi clans include Parmar, Chaulukya (Solanki), Parihar and Chauhan. Lesser-noted vansh include Udayvanshi, Rajvanshi, and Rishivanshi.

Who are Chandravanshi Kshatriyas?

Several Kshatriya communities/clans claim descent from Chandra. One of Brahma’s son was Ādī, whose son was Chandra (Soma), from whom started Chandravansh. Thakur Deshraj writes that those who follow the Lunar calendar for time calculation are Chandravanshi kshatriyas.

Which caste is Kshatriya?

The Kshatriyas are a large block of Hindu castes, mainly located in the northern half of India. The Sanskrit term Kshatrā means “warrior, ruler,” and identifies the second varna, ranking immediately below the Brahmans.

Is Chandravanshi a low caste?

At present, the Chandravanshi community comes under the EBC (extremely backward caste) category.

Is Kahar a low caste?

According to a doctrine of Hindu genealogists kahars are, by origin, a low caste of their community and represent a mixed caste descended from a brahman father and a chandal mother.

Is Kshatriya an OBC?

According to the central list of OBCs for the state of Karnataka, BHAVASAR KSHATRIYA falls under the OBC (Other Backward Classes) category.

Who is the God of Kshatriyas?

According to legend, they are descended from Agni, the Hindu God of Fire. The Agnivanshi lineage is one of the three lineages into which the Kshatriya caste of Hindus is divided.

Who is the God of Kshatriya?

Which caste is Kashyap?

Kashyap is originally one of the eight primary gotras (clans) of the Brahmins, being derived from Kashyapa, the name of a rishi (hermit) from whom the eponymous gotra Brahmins believe to have descended.

Is Rajput an OBC?

Rajput is a very high profile caste in our system. It comes under General category. But for your information in Karnataka it comes under OBC category.

Which surnames are Kshatriya?

What are the surnames of Kshatriyas? Singh, Rana, Thakur, Babu saheb, Pusapati and Kothapalli & more are the surnames of Kshatriyas.

Which caste is Verma?

Verma (वर्मा) Varma (वर्मा) is surname of Jats, though other communities also use this surname. The title was used historically by Kshatriyas.

What caste is Sharma?

Sharma is a Brahmin Hindu surname in India and Nepal. The Sanskrit stem ṣárman- (nom. sarma) can mean ‘joyfulness’, ‘comfort’, ‘happiness’. Sarma is an alternative English spelling of the name.

Is Thakur a OBC?

In India, the social groups which use this title include the Brahmins, Rajputs (Rajputra), Charans, Ahirs, Kolis, and Jats. In Northern and Southern Region of India Thakur represents Rajput Forward caste. Most of the OBC caste to gain Political importance use Thakur as Title.

Is Kshatriya a Rajput?

The Rajputs regard themselves as descendants or members of the Kshatriya (warrior ruling) class, but they actually vary greatly in status, from princely lineages, such as the Guhilot and Kachwaha, to simple cultivators.

Who are called Kshatriyas?

Kshatriya, also spelled Kshattriya or Ksatriya, second highest in ritual status of the four varnas, or social classes, of Hindu India, traditionally the military or ruling class.

What caste is Yadav?

Classification. The Yadavs are included in the Other Backward Classes (OBCs) category in the Indian states of Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Delhi, Haryana, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh, Odisha, Rajasthan, Uttar Pradesh, and West Bengal.

Is Yadav an OBC?

The Yadavs are included in the Other Backward Classes (OBCs) category in the Indian states of Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Delhi, Haryana, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh, Odisha, Rajasthan, Uttar Pradesh, and West Bengal.

Who is Chaudhary caste?

In Bihar, the Pasi are also known as the Chaudhary, a community traditionally connected with toddy tapping.

Is Yadav SC or OBC?

Is Yadava Kshatriya?

The Yadavs claim Kshatriya status on account of their ‘connection’ with Krishna. That puts them in the warrior category and second only to the Brahmins, the priestly caste.

Is Lord Krishna a Yadav?

Krishna belongs to yadava clan whose founder or first ancestor was YADU ,descendant of Yayati, other being PURU.

Which caste is Thakur?