What is the doctrine of Christology?

What is the doctrine of Christology?

Christology, Christian reflection, teaching, and doctrine concerning Jesus of Nazareth. Christology is the part of theology that is concerned with the nature and work of Jesus, including such matters as the Incarnation, the Resurrection, and his human and divine natures and their relationship.

What is the doctrine of Christology Where did the word Christology originate and what does it mean?

Christology (from Greek Χριστός Khristós and -λογία, -logia), literally “the understanding of Christ”, is the study of the nature (person) and work (role in salvation) of Jesus Christ. It studies Jesus Christ’s humanity and divinity, and the relation between these two aspects; and the role he plays in salvation.

What are the three approaches to Christology?

Among several models in Christology, J. Mclntyre discusses three basic ones: i.e. revelation model, two-nature model and psychological model. ‘ The revelation model presents the person and work of Christ under the aspect of God’s self-disclosure.

Who is the founder of Christology?

Christology: A Biblical, Historical, and Systematic Study of Jesus

Author Gerald O’Collins
Subject Christology
Genre Theology
Publisher Oxford University Press
Publication date 9 July 2009 (2nd revised ed.)

What is the most important doctrine of Christology?

Christology relates to many areas of theology, but most important is its place in the life of the believer. Recognizing who Jesus is, what he did and why — these are essential to knowing him. Only then may someone believe in Jesus and have eternal life (John 3:11-21).

What are the 3 affirmations of Christianity?

The Phoenix Affirmations have been widely adopted by Christian organizations who identify themselves as “progressive.” The Phoenix Affirmations take on a threefold structure, based on the Three Great Loves identified by Jesus and affirmed within Judaism: Love of God, Love of Neighbor, and Love of Self.

What are the three heresies?

For convenience the heresies which arose in this period have been divided into three groups: Trinitarian/Christological; Gnostic; and other heresies.

What is the study of angels called?

Definition of angelology

: the theological doctrine of angels or its study.

What is the doctrine of God?

The Doctrine of God – YouTube

What is the doctrine of Christians?

The basic meaning of the term doctrine is “teaching.” Christian doctrine, accordingly, is the attempt to state in intellectually responsible terms the message of the gospel and the content of the faith it elicits.

What are God’s affirmations?

Biblical affirmations, like daily Christian affirmations, are the act of declaring what the bible says is true about you. It is declaring and pouring truth over who you are daily until it seeps into your being. The best way to cover your life with daily affirmations is through scripture alone.

How do I affirm my faith in God?

Be saturated in prayer throughout each day, offering your faith-filled requests before God with overflowing gratitude. Tell him every detail of your life.” Verse 7, “then God’s wonderful peace that transcends human understanding, will guard your heart and mind through Jesus Christ.”

What are the 8 heresies?

The… During its early centuries, the Christian church dealt with many heresies. They included, among others, docetism, Montanism, adoptionism, Sabellianism, Arianism, Pelagianism, and gnosticism.

Do Gnostics believe in Jesus?

Jesus is identified by some Gnostics as an embodiment of the supreme being who became incarnate to bring gnōsis to the earth, while others adamantly denied that the supreme being came in the flesh, claiming Jesus to be merely a human who attained enlightenment through gnosis and taught his disciples to do the same.

What are the 4 types of angels?


  • 4.1 Principalities or Rulers.
  • 4.2 Archangels.
  • 4.3 Angels. 4.3.1 Personal guardian angels.

What are the 7 ranks of angels?


  • Highest orders Seraphim Cherubim Thrones.
  • Middle orders Dominions Virtues Powers.
  • Lowest orders Principalities Archangels Angels.

What are the 10 doctrines of the Bible?

The ten doctrines explained are: God, Jesus Christ, Holy Spirit, Man, Salvation, The Church, Scriptures, Angels, Satan, and The Last Things. I highly recommend this book to all Bible students and Christians looking to increase their knowledge of basic Biblical doctrine.

How many doctrines are in the Bible?

Clear explanation of the nine major doctrines. This text goes through a clear scriptural study of nine doctrines covering the Bible, God, Christ, the Holy Spirit, man, salvation, the church, angels, and end times.

What are the 4 doctrines?

The four doctrines are: a description of the nature of the Lord, by which Swedenborg means both Jesus and God; the inner spiritual meaning of holy scripture; the nature of evil and and importance of good works; and nature of faith.

What are the 5 doctrines of Christianity?

This is a discussion oriented Bible Fellowship. The 5 are: 1) Uniqueness of Jesus (Virgin Birth) –Oct 7; 2) One God (The Trinity) Oct 14; 3) Necessity of the Cross (Salvation) and 4) Resurrection and Second Coming are combinded on Oct 21; 5) Inspiration of Scripture Oct 28.

Where does the Bible talk about chakras?

While chakras aren’t mentioned specifically in the Bible, we can see that it is possible that just as God created our bodies with pathways for energy to flow (nerves, blood, lymph, meridians). He also created these energy centers throughout the body to receive and transmit energy messages.

What does affirm mean spiritually?

According to the English American Dictionary, to “affirm” is to state that something is true. When applied to the spiritual life, an affirmation is a statement of truth which one aspires to absorb into his life. ( 1) Affirmations are dynamic and practical — not wishful thinking.

How do I pray for self confidence?

Assurance Prayer
I need your Spirit to walk with me, Lord. I need you to assure me that I can do all that I am meant to do. May I be confident in your promise and remain faithful to you, even in the hard times. I pray that I live boldly because you are my Lord.

Who is a famous heretic?

Two of the main heretics in the High Middle Ages were Henry the Monk and Peter of Bruis. These two people lived as begging wandering preachers, who even opposed Christian symbols. Slowly, many heretic beliefs and doctrines formed, and people started following them.

Why is heresy a sin?

Heresy is, therefore, sinful because the heretic commits idolatry by making his own beliefs the object of his desire instead of God who is the Truth. As we have now seen, the first and second reasons an act of heresy is sinful apply every time someone commits heresy.