What is IE in 8051?

What is IE in 8051?

8051 has 5 interrupt signals, i.e. INT0, TFO, INT1, TF1, RI/TI….IE (Interrupt Enable) Register.

EA IE.7 It disables all interrupts. When EA = 0 no interrupt will be acknowledged and EA = 1 enables the interrupt individually.
EX0 IE.0 Enables/disables external interrupt0.

What is SFR in 8051?

The Intel 80196 class microcontroller has 24 SFRs, each 1 Byte in size; standard Intel 8051 chips have 21 SFRs. The Special Function Register (SFR) is the upper area of addressable memory, from address 0x80 to 0xFF.

What is IE and IP in microcontroller?

IE and IP are the registers to enable and to set priority of the interrupt system in the microcontroller.

What are the contents of IE register upon reset?

What are the contents of the IE register, when the interrupt of the memory location 0x00 is caused? Explanation: When interrupt of 0x00 is caused (the reset interrupt) then all the other interrupts will be disabled or the contents of the IE register becomes null.

What is the full form of SP DPTR TCON IE and TMOD registers?

Pointer Registers: DPTR (Data Pointer – DPL, DPH) and SP (Stack Pointer) Registers. I/O Port Latches: P0 (Port 0), P1 (Port 1), P2 (Port 2) and P3 (Port 3) Registers. Peripheral Control Registers: PCON, SCON, TCON, TMOD, IE and IP Registers.

What is GPR and SPR?

The instructions move the contents of one Special-Purpose Register (SPR) into another SPR or into a General-Purpose Register (GPR). These include both nonprivileged and privileged instructions.

Which SFR is related to port direction?

Each SFR is memory mapped, with its own unique address. Derived from that address is its select line, which goes high when that location is addressed. ‘Port Select’ selects the Data SFR and ‘Direction Select’ selects the Direction SFR.

Which of the following SFR is used in 8051 interrupt?

The Serial Control or SCON SFR is used to control the 8051 Microcontroller’s Serial Port. It is located as an address of 98H. Using SCON, you can control the Operation Modes of the Serial Port, Baud Rate of the Serial Port and Send or Receive Data using Serial Port.

Which bit of IE register belong to serial interrupt?

IE (Interrupt Enable)

Bit Symbol Additional Info
7 EA If set to 1, individual interrupts can be enabled. If set to 0, all interrupts are disabled.
5 ET2
4 ES If set to 1, Serial Port interrupt is enabled. If set to 0, Serial Port interrupt is disabled.

What is UART in 8051?

UART is the abbreviation for Universal Asynchronous Receiver/Transmitter and is a commonly used hardware module for serial communication based on communication protocols like RS232. This chapter discusses how such a device is appropriately interfaced with an 8051 microcontroller.

What is address of ACC and B register in SFR?

The Register A is located at the address E0H in the SFR memory space. The Accumulator is used to hold the data for almost all the ALU Operations. The B Register is used along with the ACC in Multiplication and Division operations. These two operations are performed on data that are stored only in Registers A and B.

What is the difference between SFR and GPR?

Data memory is made up of the Special Function Registers (SFR) area, and the General Pur- pose Registers (GPR) area. The SFRs control the operation of the device, while GPRs are the general area for data storage and scratch pad operations. The data memory is banked for both the GPR and SFR areas.

How many SFR are in 8051?

21 SFRs
Each SFR has an address (80h through FFh) and a name. The following chart provides a graphical presentation of the 8051’s SFRs, their names, and their address. As you can see, although the address range of 80h through FFh offer 128 possible addresses, there are only 21 SFRs in a standard 8051.

What are the SFRS of the 8051?

SFRs related to the I/O ports: The 8051 has four I/O ports of 8 bits, for a total of 32 I/O lines. Whether a given I/O line is high or low and the value read from the line are controlled by the SFRs. The SFRs control the operation or the configuration of some aspect of the 8051.

What is IE in 8051? Interrupt Enable (IE) Register: This register is responsible for enabling and disabling the interrupt. It is a bit addressable register in which EA must be set to one for enabling interrupts. And, it is also a bit addressable register.

What are the 8051 microcontroller special function registers?

This will be done by manipulating the 8051 Microcontroller Special Function Registers (SFRs). In 8051 micro controller there are 21 Special function registers (SFR) and this includes Register A, Register B, Processor Status Word (PSW), PCON etc.

What is inter interrupt in 8051?

Interrupts are the events that temporarily suspend the main program, pass the control to the external sources and execute their task. It then passes the control to the main program where it had left off. 8051 has 5 interrupt signals, i.e. INT0, TFO, INT1, TF1, RI/TI. Also, what is SFR in 8051?